top of page

Nominations for the 2024 Jacoby Service Award


The Oswald and James Jacoby Service Award is District 16's Premier Service Award. In selecting an annual winner the Awards Committee only considers volunteers nominated by a unit. Although the district only presents one award yearly, qualified nominations of those not selected in a current year are still available for future consideration and may be submitted again.

If you have a potential candidate you believe should be nominated this year just contact your unit board.

Nominations for the 2024 Oswald and James Jacoby Service Award must be received by Awards Chair Jerry Harrington (d16-1st.vice,, by July 1. The award will, as traditional, be presented to the winner on Saturday at the Dallas Labor Day Regional.

Award History

The Oswald and James Jacoby Service Award was established in 1982. It is designed to honor those volunteers who have worked diligently at the unit level and risen to recognition at the district level after performing many years of outstanding service.


Oswald Jacoby.jpg

Oswald “Ozzie” Jacoby 1902-1984, was a 31 time national champion from Dallas. Ozzie also had 21 runner up achievements. The Jacoby Transfer is named for Oswald as an adaptation of bid previously called Texas Convention. Oswald was an expert not only in bridge and chess, but in poker, gin rummy, canasta, checkers and backgammon. Ultimately he wrote books on nearly all of them.

James “Jim” Jacoby of Richardson 1933-1991,was son of Oswald and Mary Zita Jacoby. A four time world teams champion and Barry Crane Top 500 winner, he was inducted into the ACBL Hall of Fame in 1997 in recognition of his bridge successes and many writing contributions.

Oswald “Ozzie” Jacoby

bottom of page